I guess Kuchar wasn't jumping out at me - just jumping.
I actually believe the USGA made the only fair interpretation of the rule. If the ball moves while the putter is skirting all around it, I think you generally should assume that movement of the club somehow caused movement of the ball. I understand that these particular greens are unbelievably fast and that may not actually be the case in this instance. It certainly doesn't look like the putter actually touched the ball in any way.
What I don't understand is the application of the rule in a case where the player clearly does not gain any advantage. If the ball had rolled forward or to the side (like to avoid a spike mark or some imperfection) it would be different. But a tenth of a turn straight back?