I may be in the DQ camp on this one.

Got to be honest here. If this had been Tiger we’d be screaming DQ.

Lefty will have to live with this being the low point of his career. As unfortunate as it is and most likely will be going forward, this pretty much sums up his frustrations with never having achieved the career grand slam.
The US Open is just his bugaboo, just like Sam Snead.

That’s probably punishment enough.

Come Monday morning, he’ll recognize that he goofed in a big way.

Phil’s action doesn’t bother me a bit. He was reacting out of frustration and not scheming to gain an advantage on the field. I doubt even Phil cares if he’s dq’ed or not. It was petty, but nothing worthy of regret.

IMO, he compounded the problem in his post round interview (took guts to even answer agreeing to it) by saying he just used the rules of golf to his advantage (paraphrased). He claims the ball would have rolled off the green and put him in a tougher position so the 2 stroke penalty was his best option. My BS detector went ballistic on that claim.

    I don't think it was BS, he pretty clearly started to run to it when he realized it was going to go off, and before it went too far. Almost holed it too, that would have been replayed forever! If that's what the rules allow, he took the 2 stroke penalty, what is the problem?

      Ack8236 I don't think it was BS, he pretty clearly started to run to it when he realized it was going to go off, and before it went too far. Almost holed it too, that would have been replayed forever! If that's what the rules allow, he took the 2 stroke penalty, what is the problem?

      I agree 100%

      Seems like a dumb move regardless of the DQ risk. He ended up with 10 on the hole. Even if the ball goes off the green he probably would have been better off.

      Clearly he intentionally broke the rules and that should never be looked at as a good thing from the perspective of sportsmanship. However, given the circumstances, it also clearly wasn’t to gain a competitive advantage.

        I saw the interview with the USGA after the rounds were over. Said it was never a consideration to DQ him but it was within the rules to do so.

        Phil was out of it by then...has a great rep...a fun moment.

        2 strokes enough.

        He should just wear some Loudmouth pants tomorrow,what's he got to lose!

        I wouldn’t have made the decision to dq him, but It’s probably not fair from a payout perspective for any players that finish below him that he gets to continue play.

        His action on the course was reactionary....his comments calculated.

        9/10 on the BS meter.

        So much for straight shooting Phil.

        The USGA knew they screwed up and would catch flak to DQ Phil. That would mean zip to Phil, except he would now have support vs criticism, AND the public and players reaction would be nuclear against the USGA over a DQ.

        Calculated response by Phil and the USGA.

        It was clearly calculated. He could've declared his next shot unplayable, gone back to the original spot where he last putted from, simply assumed a 1-shot penalty, and would've had a club-length to putt his next attempt.

        He was clearly frustrated and wanted to make a statement to the USGA.

        They weren't on the clock, they weren't holding up play. Phil wasn't happy with the setup, and although he has a lot of players who would support that opinion - he overstepped the line of integrity and the spirit of the game with his actions.

        Had this been Pat Perez, he would've been DQ'd.

        I love Phil, he's done far more good for the game than bad, but this wasn't one of his finer moments.

        Phil's explanation supports a DQ, since he admitted trying to gain an advantage. But I think his explanation was BS, so the 2-stroke penalty was ultimately the right decision.

        Did they DQ Daly when he did the same thing at the us open at Pinehurst? I honestly can't remember.

          rsvman I don’t remember either. I heard someone say he got a 2 stroke penalty a little while ago. I know he withdrew in disgust at one US Open, but don’t remember if it’s the same one he whacked the moving ball.

          rsvman

          No, they assessed a 2-shot penalty. And that’s probably why Phil wasn’t DQ’d, despite him saying after the fact that he was trying to use the rules to his advantage.

          Whether that is a breach of the spirit of the rules/competition is obviously a different debate altogether.

          I think we all agree that this wasn’t one of his finer moments. Especially considering how he’s conducted himself in the past. Maybe they felt he’s earned a little leeway with how he’s represented himself and the tour throughout his career.

          I wouldn’t be surprised though if he DQ’s himself and doesn’t play tomorrow in the final round.

          He’s undoubtedly already regretting what he did.

          What a stupid am I part 2!