Don't know who has seen this, it seems like a good move:
http://www.usga.org/rules-hub/2017-local-rule/new-local-rule.html

The start of the text:
he USGA and The R&A today announced the introduction of a new Local Rule that eliminates the penalty when a ball is accidentally moved on the putting green.

The Local Rule will be available for any committee in charge of a competition to use starting Jan. 1, 2017. It will be adopted by the USGA and The R&A in all of their championships, qualifying competitions and international matches.

Good move!IMO
Why should you get penalized for something that's not really giving you an unfair advantage over the field?
Stuff happens on super fast undulating greens and add some wind etc.
There's a few other things they might consider too,to bring the rules game up to modern times!

I also agree that this is a good move. Most people wouldn't take a penalty for the things it covers in normal "weekend" play, but in a tournament or a sanctioned event, would have to without this.

I think there it too much BS about marking the ball on the green. Big deal if it gets remarked 1/2" from the original mark. The putt is still going to be the same. It isn't like we are still playing stymies. Something I would think would speed up play is to allow players to tamp down spike marks in their line. They can repair ball marks but not tap down tiny marks from steel spikes? I think Lexi got a raw deal last year with a 4 shot penalty for improperly remarking her ball.

    Rickochet Negative. Why should they be able to mark it 1/2" closer? If we're gonna allow that, then why not 1" closer. If 1" is fine, then why not...

    The next step is gimme putts "within the leather" don't count.

      puttnfool Negative. Why should they be able to mark it 1/2" closer? If we're gonna allow that, then why not 1" closer. If 1" is fine, then why not...

      I didn't say closer, nitpicker. When playing lift, clean and place in the fairway you don't put it back exactly on the same spot. What is the diff?

        Rickochet you said you think Lexi got a raw deal. She marked it closer. Sounds like you support marking it closer a long as it's <0.5".

        The difference between l,c,&p in the fairway and marking closer in the green? I'd say odds that it'll have a major influence on whether you make your next shot. Then again, I would lean toward not supporting LCP, too.

        Play it as it lies. That's fairly basic.

          puttnfool you said you think Lexi got a raw deal. She marked it closer. Sounds like you support marking it closer a long as it's <0.5".

          The difference between l,c,&p in the fairway and marking closer in the green? I'd say odds that it'll have a major influence on whether you make your next shot. Then again, I would lean toward not supporting LCP, too.

          Play it as it lies. That's fairly basic.

          Read my above post again. I SAID NOTHING ABOUT MARKING IT CLOSER.

            Rickochet Big deal if it gets remarked 1/2" from the original mark.
            Rickochet Read my above post again. I SAID NOTHING ABOUT MARKING IT CLOSER.

            Correct, but you didn't specify that it's only acceptable to place it "no closer to the hole".

            Besides, I guess it's really not an argument anyway since the act of remarking the ball would not get a penalty anyway. Now, placing the ball 1/2" closer to the hole most definitely should warrant a penalty, but I don't believe the RoG specify where you should mark the ball as long as it gets placed back in its original location.

            That video is from Dec. 2016. It said the new rule takes (actually took) effect Jan. 2017. 😕