ode Ball embedded in the face of a bunker is not the same thing.
And there it is!
I've read of no bitching from anyone about how the ruling went down, except maybe here, a bit. imo, the 'rule' may have been interpreted wrong, by the official, although Rory did not complain.
Like you said, in the face of the bunker.......inside the bunker. Why did he have to drop outside the bunker, which was a much more difficult shot? The ball was wayyyy below the surface of the grass.
Also, no one ever gets a free drop from any bush.
edit:
The reference point for taking relief is the spot in the general area right behind where the ball is embedded.
Correct ruling.