The details of the Reed, non issue:
"you could definitely see and identify the line with the arrow on the end. So did the rules official. Luckily he was there to reconfirm and check it, to make sure it was mine as well."
The DP World Tour later issued a statement saying they were confident Reed had not broken any rules.
They said: ““Two on course referees and several marshals identified that Patrick Reed’s ball had become lodged in a specific tree following his tee shot on 17.
The DP World Tour Chief Referee joined the player in the area and asked him to identify his distinctive ball markings. Using binoculars, the chief referee was satisfied that a ball with those markings was lodged in the tree.
“The player subsequently took an unplayable penalty drop (Rule 19.2c) at the point directly below the ball on the ground.”