Bello hit his 2nd shot into the lateral hazard to the right of the green on the Par 5 13th. The hazard extends fully up the right side of the green and Bello's ball entered it about front-of-green-high with a bunker between that point and the hole. After much discussion with a rules official he was allowed to drop the ball 20 yards further along the hazard line, taking the bunker completely out of play. He DID NOT drop on the opposite side of the hazard.
There were some comments by the announcers about it being a point equidistant from the hole, but they were unable to articulate the portion of the rule that allowed this option. Please help me understand how this is allowed. Oh, and by the way, its an honor to be post number one in this forum!! 🙂