Spartan Don't you have to play a complete round (9 holes) for it to be official?
I'm pretty sure this was asked an answered not too long ago on this board. The USGA is pretty lenient in allowing 'official' hole in one recognition. I'm bending the rules and thinking he was playing a 'match' and declared it over shortly after he made his ace.
Validity of Hole in One
Q. What constitutes the validity of a hole in one?
A. The Rules of Golf do not address the issue of the validity of a hole-in-one. It is up to the Committee to determine whether a hole-in-one is valid. The USGA recommends that a hole-in-one be considered valid:
If made during a round of at least nine holes, except that a hole-in-one made during a match should be acceptable even if the match ends before the stipulated round is completed.
If the player is playing one ball; a hole-in-one made in a practice round in which the player is playing two or more balls should not be acceptable.
If attested by someone acceptable to the Committee.
If made at a hole with a temporary tee and/or putting green in use, even if the Committee did not specifically define the teeing ground with tee-markers; the length of the hole at the time should be stated on any certificate.
If made in a "scramble" competition, which is played as follows: A side comprises four players. Each member of a side plays from the teeing ground, the best drive is selected, each member plays a second shot from where the best drive is located, and so on.