The only problem I had with Lexi's situation is that it took so long to confirm that she mis-marked her ball, which ultimately changed the outcome. But video proved that she replaced her ball in the wrong spot. Whether it was intentional or unintentional matters not as it relates to the rules of competition. But it should've been discovered prior to her signing her scorecard.
It still doesn't mean I don't think she broke a rule.
And given her propensity to miss important 2-footers in the heat of battle - I can't automatically assume she didn't benefit from the misplacement of her ball on the green.
But should she have been informed about it the following day? Absolutely not.
And we could just as easily cite Jon Rahm for similar grievances, where he - on the other hand - was given the benefit of the doubt in both situations.
Just glad that they've decided to do away with the armchair trolls who want to change the outcome of the tournament. Now - the onus is on the rules officials to get it right. And that's the way it should've been long ago imo.