shawnfoley Once you elect to try to play that ball out of the hazard, you are stuck until you can get the ball out of the hazard whether that be from hitting the ball out or from taking a number of unplayable lies,
26-2. Ball Played Within Water Hazard
a. Ball Comes to Rest in Same or Another Water Hazard
If a ball played from within a water hazard comes to rest in the same or another water hazard after the stroke, the player may:
(i) under penalty of one stroke, play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the last stroke from outside a water hazard was made (see Rule 20-5); or
(ii) proceed under Rule 26-1a, 26-1b or, if applicable, Rule 26-1c, incurring the penalty of one stroke under that Rule. For purposes of applying Rule 26-1b or 26-1c, the reference point is the point where the original ball last crossed the margin of the hazard in which it lies.
But the same does not apply to a bunker. Once you've made a stroke in a bunker you are there for life unless you can hit it out.